Home Uncategorized Nobel Peace Prize for 2019 awarded to Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed


Nobel Peace Prize for 2019 awarded to Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed

by Ace Damon
Nobel Peace Prize for 2019 awarded to Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed


The 2019 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to the Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed.
FMM – F24 Video Footage

Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed won the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize for "for his efforts to achieve peace and international cooperation and, in particular, for his decisive initiative to resolve the border conflict with neighboring Eritrea. "

The Nobel committee said during its announcement on Friday that the coveted prize should also recognize all stakeholders working for peace and reconciliation in Ethiopia and eastern and northeastern Africa.

Ahmed struck a peace deal with Eritrean President Isaias Afwerki last year that ended 20 years of the "no peace, no war" impasse between the two countries.

According TIMEAt least 70,000 people have been killed since the border disputes began in 1998, five years after Eritrea gained independence from Ethiopia.

Nobel Prizes in Literature: Polish novelist Olga Tokarczuk, Austrian author Peter Handke won

Although thousands of political prisoners have been released since Ahmed took office in April 2018, Ethiopia's internal affairs still divide the country.

The Nobel committee acknowledged this in its announcement, saying that even though there is still much work in the unstable country, Ahmed has begun major reforms that give "many citizens hope for a better life and a better future."

The African country faces elections next year.

The Norwegian Nobel Institute said it has not yet been able to get hold of the Ethiopian leader.

The committee received nominations for 223 individuals and 78 organizations for the Swedish 9 million kronor prize, or $ 918,000. The list is kept secret for 50 years.

Last year's winners were Congolese doctor Denis Mukwege and Kurdish activist Yazidi Nadia Murad for "their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict."

Although the list cannot be confirmed for another five decades, teenage climate activist Greta Thunberg and New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern were also nominated as pioneers in the award.

Watch the exact moment when the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize is announced.

Presented by Berit Reiss-Andersen, Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee.#Nobel Prize#Nobel Prize of Peacepic.twitter.com/EIATBAMVp7

– The Nobel Prize (@NobelPrize) October 11, 2019

President Donald Trump was also nominated for the 2019 award by members of the US Republican Congress for their efforts to secure denuclearization on the Korean peninsula.

Previous winners who have been criticized include former US President Barack Obama, who won in 2009 after less than a year in office for his "extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation among peoples." Critics interpreted his victory as a political repudiation of the presidency of George W. Bush.

Contribution: Kim Hjelmgaard, USA TODAY; Associated Press Follow Adrianna Rodriguez on Twitter: @AdriannaUSAT.


Show thumbnails

Show subtitles

Read or share this story: https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/world/2019/10/11/nobel-peace-prize-2019-ethiopian-prime-minister-abiy-ahmed-wins/3929920002/


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

1 × 2 =

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More